Find Your Course
Liverpool Hope Logo

Department of Education Studies

Overview

‌Education Studies is a dynamic and successful department of Liverpool Hope University with a diverse and growing number of staff, students and researchers. It has developed an international reputation for excellence in research and teaching. 

We are extremely proud that in the 2018 Complete University Guide, Education at Liverpool Hope University is 1st in the UK for student satisfaction (out of 77 Universities that offer Education). We have an excellent track record of producing outstanding research: in the most recent review of Research Excellence, 60% of research in Education at Liverpool Hope was graded as ‘world-leading’ or ‘internationally excellent’.  

The study of Education at Liverpool Hope involves a detailed investigation of the four principal disciplines of education: history, philosophy, psychology, and sociology. The core of the department is a highly trained, innovative international team of academics from over seven different countries and Liverpool Hope is one of few universities in this subject area where 100% of teaching staff hold doctorates. The team are also involved in leading international subject organisations such as British Association for International and Comparative Education and Philosophy of Education Society of Great Britain.

The undergraduate Education Major is a rigorous academic course with a broad professional orientation. It is designed to partner with a range of subjects on offer across the University. At postgraduate level, we offer an MA Education and MA International Education and also support the School of Teacher Education in delivering the Doctor and Master of Education programmes. The department also hosts the Centre for Education Policy Analysis,  providing a 'hub' for staff and students to conduct research and exchange ideas. 

For the latest information and thoughts from our staff, check out our Education Studies Department Blog.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Department!

Dr Phil Bamber, Head of Department

Read more Hide
Study with Us
UndergraduatePostgraduate
BA Education MA Education
  MA International Education
  MA Interdisciplinary Studies in Education
Department Staff

Philip Bamber

Associate Professor in Education Studies and Head of Department

bamberp@hope.ac.uk

Dr. Naomi Hodgson

Dr Naomi Hodgson

Lecturer in Education Studies

hodgson@hope.ac.uk

Henry Kum

Dr Henry Kum

Lecturer in Education Studies

kumh@hope.ac.uk

Dr Rosie Germain

Lecturer in Education Studies

germair@hope.ac.uk

Joanne Lewis

Joanne Lewis

Professional Tutor in Education Studies

lewisj@hope.ac.uk

Claire Lloyd

Dr Claire Lloyd

Lecturer in Education Studies (Psychology)

lloydc@hope.ac.uk

Jody Crutchley

Dr Jody Crutchley

Post doctoral teaching fellow

crutchj@hope.ac.uk

Dr Catherine O'Connell

Dr Catherine O'Connell

Lecturer in Education (Psychology)

oconnec@hope.ac.uk

Daniel O'Neil

Dr Daniel O'Neill

Lecturer in Education Studies

oneilld@hope.ac.uk

0174 Dr Cathal 0'Siochru

Dr Cathal O'Siochru

Senior Lecturer in Education Studies

osiochc@hope.ac.uk

0196 Dr Namrata Rao

Dr Namrata Rao

Senior Lecturer in Education Studies

raon@hope.ac.uk

Ms Konstanze Spohrer

Dr Konstanze Spohrer

Lecturer in Education Studies

spohrek@hope.ac.uk

0224 Dr Frank Su

Dr Frank Su

Senior Lecturer in Education Studies

suf@hope.ac.uk

Dr Olga Ververvi

Dr Olga Ververi

Lecturer in Education Studies

ververo@hope.ac.uk

Lee Shannon

Dr Lee Shannon

Post doctoral teaching fellow

shannonl@hope.ac.uk

Chelsea Swift

PDTF in Education

swiftc@hope.ac.uk

Richard Budd

Dr Richard Budd

Lecturer in Education Studies

buddr@hope.ac.uk

Dr David Lundie

Senior Lecturer in Education Studies

lundied@hope.ac.uk

Joseph Maslen 150x150

Dr Joseph Maslen

Lecturer in Education Studies

maslenj@hope.ac.uk

Ian Stronach

Professor Ian Stronach

Professorial Fellow

Stronai@hope.ac.uk

Christine Parry

Departmental Administrator

PARRYC@hope.ac.uk

Sophia Detarala

Sophia Detarala

VC PhD Scholarship

deteras@hope.ac.uk

Publications

‌‌‌‌RE educationPhilosophy educationReorientation of HEGove legacyCoalition effectGenerational conflictTechnology philosophy