Find Your Course
Liverpool Hope Logo

Filter news by category:

print Icon print this page share this article

Liverpool Hope to accredit Newman and St Mary's PhDs

St Mary's Wednesday 25 June 2014

Liverpool Hope University has signed agreements that will see it accredit PhDs for students at Newman University, Birmingham, and St Mary's University, Twickenham, from September 2014.

Professor Gerald Pillay, Vice-Chancellor and Rector of Liverpool Hope University, Dr Arthur Naylor, Vice-Chancellor of St Mary’s University, and Professor Peter Lutzeier, Vice-Chancellor and Principal of Newman University, signed the agreements this week.

Newman University was formed in 1968 to train teachers, and has since expanded to provide a range of degrees, higher degrees and work-based foundation degrees. The university is named after its patron Blessed John Henry Newman who was a Cardinal of the Catholic Church and Beatified in September 2010 by Pope Benedict XVI, and a significant influence on the purpose of a modern university.

Founded in 1850 as a Catholic teacher training college, St Mary’s has now grown to more than 5,000 students and was awarded full University title in January 2014. The University currently supports 50 PhD students in a range of subjects including Theology, Sport Sciences, English and Education.

Liverpool Hope University is the only ecumenical university foundation in Europe. ‌With a history going back 170 years, Liverpool Hope has developed a strong tradition of scholarship and research in key disciplines. Its work has been shaped by Christian principles and, like St Mary’s and Newman, it embraces those of all faiths and none.

Professor Gerald Pillay, Vice-Chancellor and Rector of Liverpool Hope University said:  “The awarding of Hope degrees to students of both Newman University and St Mary's University reflects what we have in common as universities with a distinctive ethos and culture. We also look forward to a shared future of academic excellence.” 

Professor Peter Lutzeier, Vice Chancellor and Principal of Newman University, said: “We are very pleased to work with Liverpool Hope University, a University that shares our ethos and values, and will approach this in the spirit of a developmental partnership. We particularly welcome that Liverpool Hope is also working with Maryvale Institute and St Mary’s University. 

"Following the award of taught degree awarding powers in 2007, and full university title in 2013, the next important phase of the academic development of the scholarly community of Newman University is gaining research degree awarding powers, and this partnership will contribute significantly to this objective. I have no doubt that the PhD students studying at Newman in the coming years will benefit greatly from the considerable expertise available at both Newman and Liverpool Hope.”

Dr Arthur Naylor, Vice-Chancellor of St Mary’s University said, “We are very pleased with our new collaborative arrangements to award PhD degrees through Liverpool Hope University. Until now we have been validated for research degrees through the University of Surrey and we are grateful for their support over many years.

"The arrangement with Liverpool Hope involving ourselves and Newman University offers new opportunities for research collaboration as we prepare ourselves to apply for our own research degree awarding powers. St Mary's was granted taught degree awarding powers in 2006 and uses these for all undergraduate, taught postgraduate and Foundation degree awards.”

Show more