Find Your Course
Liverpool Hope Logo

Department of Social Work, Care and Justice

Overview

The Department of Social Work, Care and Justice is one of the newest Departments in the University, but it is also one of the largest.

The Department runs both BA and MA programmes in social work which qualify for professional social work registration. In addition there are BA major degrees in Social Policy, Childhood and Youth and Health and Well-Being. 

Finally we have two further MA programmes. The MA Youth and Community Work brings professional recognition in this field; whilst the MA in Social Policy provides an academic route to those wanting to further their study in this area.

The teaching in the department is provided by highly qualified staff who research and publish in their field. We also provide a range of field trips (both national and international) and provide a range of opportunities for students to engage with social welfare projects and link the worlds of academia and practice.

The Department has a strong commitment to issues of social justice and this shapes all our provision. This means that whilst studying our subjects we explore the ways in which inequality, poverty, racism, gender oppression and a range of other discriminating factors shape, and impact upon, people's lives.

This orientation also informs the staff's research. Currently, staff are working on a prestigious EU funded project under the Horizon 2020 programme. Alongside colleagues in 10 other European countries, the project is looking at the impact of austerity on some of our most vulnerable communities.

The Department is host to the international journal Critical and Radical Social Work and regularly hosts academic conferences where international scholars present their work to our community.

Department of Social Work, Care and Justice

National Student Survey 2017

The National Student Survey (www.thestudentsurvey.com) asks final year students at every publicly funded Higher Education Institution (HEI) in the UK to rate their experience by stating to what extent they agree with a set of core questions across a number of categories.

In this year’s results:

  • 86.67%  of students were satisfied overall with Social Work at Liverpool Hope University
  • 93.94% of students were satisfied with the teaching on their course and 90.48% were satisfied overall with Social Policy at Liverpool Hope University
Read more Hide
Department Staff
0127 Prof Michael Lavalette

Professor Michael Lavalette

Professor and Head of Social Work, Care and Justice

lavalem@hope.ac.uk

0013 Dr Helen Ashworth

Dr Helen McCarthy

Lecturer in Childhood and Youth

ashworh@hope.ac.uk

Ms Nicki Blundell

Ms Nicki Blundell

Professional Tutor in Social Work

blunden@hope.ac.uk

rose devereux

Mrs Rose Devereux

PSS Liaison Worker and Service User Co-ordinator

deverer@hope.ac.uk

0077 Dr Liz Fern

Dr Liz Fern

Senior Lecturer in Social Work

fernl@hope.ac.uk

Steven Lucas

Dr Steven Lucas

Lecturer in Social work

lucass1@hope.ac.uk

0095 Mrs Philomena Harrison

Mrs Philomena Harrison

Senior Lecturer in Social Work

harrisp1@hope.ac.uk

0105 Dr Joanne Hogan

Dr Joanne Hogan

Lecturer in Health and Wellbeing

hoganj@hope.ac.uk

0152 Mr David Merryweather

Dr David Merryweather

Lecturer in Childhood and Youth

merrywed@hope.ac.uk

0162 Mr Rich Moth

Dr Rich Moth

Senior Lecturer in Social Work

mothr@hope.ac.uk

0183 Ms Laura Penketh

Ms Laura Penketh

Senior Lecturer in Social Policy

penketl@hope.ac.uk

Tracy Ramsey

Miss Tracy Ramsey

Professional Teaching Fellow in Youth and Community Work

ramseyt@hope.ac.uk

Steve Corbett

Dr Steven Corbett

Lecturer in Social Policy

corbets@hope.ac.uk

David Neary

Dr David Neary

Lecturer in Social Policy

nearyd@hope.ac.uk

Lucy Hanson

Dr Lucy Hanson

Lecturer in Social Work

hansonl@hope.ac.uk

emma katz 150

Dr Emma Katz

Lecturer in Childhood and Youth

katze@hope.ac.uk

0134 Dr Daniela Mangione

Dr Daniela Mangione

Lecturer in Childhood and Youth

mangiod@hope.ac.uk

Scott Massie

Dr Scott Massie

Senior Professional Tutor in Social work

massies@hope.ac.uk

John Jordan

Dr John Jordan

Lecturer in Social Policy

jordanj@hope.ac.uk

Placeholder image of staff

Dr Delyth Edwards

Lecturer in Childhood and Youth

edwardd@hope.ac.uk

Kellie Thompson

Dr Kellie Thompson

Senior Lecturer in Social Work

thompsk@hope.ac.uk

Joanne Heeney

Mrs Joanne Heeney

Professional Tutor in Childhood and Youth

heeneyj@hope.ac.uk

Dr Alistair Jewell

Lecturer in Health & Social Care

jewella@hope.ac.uk

Placeholder image of staff

Ms Katherine Hennell

Professional Tutor in Childhood and Youth

hennelk@hope.ac.uk

julia lux

Dr Julia Lux

Lecturer in Social Policy

luxj@hope.ac.uk

Dr Natalija Atas

Lecturer in Social Policy

atasn@hope.ac.uk

Dr Hakan Acar

Post-Doctoral Teaching Fellow in Childhood & Youth

acarh@hope.ac.uk