Liverpool Hope Logo
Find Your Course

Hope Star Awards 2021 Winners Announced

The great and the good at Liverpool Hope University have been recognised with the annual Hope Star Excellence Awards 2021.   

The ceremony aims to celebrate students, staff and societies who go above and beyond their duties to make Hope a better place. 

Organised by the Students’ Union, winners were nominated by the wider Hope student family with the awards ultimately handed-out by a judging panel that included Harry Pearce, SU President, Sally Wills, SU Vice President of Community and Welfare, Aaron Gibson, Chair of SU Executive Council, and Khurrum Dar, Union Development Manager.

And while the Hope Star bash was forced to move online for the first time ever this year, owing to Covid-19 restrictions, it didn’t stop Harry Pearce, SU President, praising the ‘positive impact’ staff and students have had in what has been a ‘difficult and challenging year’. 

Harry added: “This awards ceremony is our way of recognising the great work that is done by staff and students to make our University such a wonderful place to study and work.

“The sheer volume of nominations for this year’s award ceremony has really impressed me. Four hundred and twelve people have been nominated across the thirteen categories and I am proud to say I have sat and read through each and every one, with a huge smile on my face and feeling proud that I am a part of the Hope community. 

“Also, proud that despite being in the midst of a global pandemic, our community spirit is still so strong.”

This year saw both winners and ‘honourable mentions’ receiving a specially-created certificate. 

Among the winners were History student Louise Lacey, who received the ‘Inspirational Student Award’ - reserved for those who volunteer in the local community, support their peers, or who overcome personal barriers to achieve academic excellence. 

Chris Biggs, Senior Careers Advisor at Hope in the Student Development and Well-being department, came home with the ‘Student Opportunities Award’, thanks to his crucial work supporting student and graduate employability. 

Dr Laura Waite, Senior Lecturer in Disability Studies at Hope and who recently came out in support of care workers in this impassioned news piece, was handed the ‘Supportive Tutor’ gong, which is presented to the ‘academic staff member who has provided the best support and encouragement to their students in this most difficult of years’.

Miss Tracey Ramsey, Professional Tutor in Youth and Community Work, picked up the ‘Inspiration Award’ - a prize that recognises that ‘great teachers are not just those who impart knowledge but also those who raise the horizons of their students’.

Meanwhile Lilly Nelson, Chaplaincy Assistant at Hope, was awarded the ‘Hope Community Hero’ certificate, fresh from her work helping to establish the new Hope Community Engagement Team, and having recently hosted a lockdown film club. 

President Harry Pearce added: “I would like to offer my personal congratulations to not only the winners of the awards, but also everyone who has been nominated.”


Full list of winners and honourable mentions: 


President’s Award

Inclusive Practice Working Group: 

Caroline Pike, Marie Caslin, Ana Be Pereira, Jacqueline Whittle, Elpiniki Smith


Innovation Award

Winner: Nicholas Garron  

Honourable mentions: Joanne Lewis, Sandra Hiett


Student Opportunities

Winner: Chris Biggs  

Honourable mentions: Harriett Pattison, Richard Webb


Supportive Tutor

Winner Laura Waite. 

Honourable mentions: Ana Be Pereira, Marie Caslin


Supportive Staff

Winner: Anne Marie-Isherwood  

Honourable mentions: Rob Cunningham, Niall Doherty


Thinkers Award

Winner: John Tilson  

Honourable mentions: Yvonne Ward, Joanne Lewis


Inspiration Award

Winner: Tracy Ramsey  

Honourable mentions: John Grant, Babs Anderson


Hope Community Hero

Winner: Lilly Nelson 

Honourable mentions: Laura Waite, Rose Devereux


Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

Winner: Nicola Howard  

Honourable mentions: Louisa- Patterson Brown, Abigail Lavers


Inspirational Student

Winner: Louise Lacey  

Honourable mentions: Poppy Euesden, Ifan Dafydd, Sarah Clarke


Course Rep of the year

Winner: John Raftery  

Honourable mentions: Daniel Shankland, Megan Rowley


Fundraiser of the Year

Winners: Cameron Sharp, Kieran Goodwin

Honourable mentions: Islamic Society, Ewan Stannard


Contribution to Inclusivity

Winner: International Relations Society  

Honourable mentions: British Sign Language, Disability Studies Society


Society of the Year

Winner: Drama Society  

Honourable mentions: International Relations, British Sign Language


Sports team of the Year

Winner: Men’s Rugby  

Honourable mentions: Ladies GAA, Netball


Published on 28/04/2021