Liverpool Hope Logo Liverpool Hope Logo
Liverpool Hope Logo

Dr John Lowndes

0151 291 3502

I studied BA Popular Music and Recording and MA Compositional Studies at The University of Salford. I then received a PhD from Edge Hill University, and joined Liverpool Hope University in 2019.

I am currently the Programme Lead for Music Production, and have also taught across the various strands of our Music provision. I am also Access and Participation Lead for the School of Creative and Performing Arts, and Assessment Coordinator for Music.

My research involves production, composition and performance, as well as writing about music. I have a background in popular music as a songwriter, singer and guitarist. I and am currently a member of the group Patchwork Rattlebag, and was formerly in a band called Death to the Strange. This music has been featured in on television, on radio and in films, and I have also performed both across the UK and internationally.
I have also written music for both acoustic instruments and electronics. These works have been performed in the UK, Europe and the USA. Currently, this strand of my work involves field recording and engagement with the communities local to our Creative Campus.

Teaching Specialisms

    •    Studio composition
    •    Songwriting
    •    Recording
    •    Live sound engineering
    •    Composition and community-based projects

School Roles

    •    Programme Leader for Music Production
    •    Access and Participation Lead for the School of Creative and Performing Arts
    •    Assessment Coordinator for Music

Professional Organisations

Advance HE Fellow


    •    About Us - For Us [for headphone playback] (2022) - Soundscape composition (for headphone playback) created in the West Everton and surrounding areas.
    •    About Us - For Us [five-speaker sound installation] (2021) -  at Angel Field Festival 2021.   
    •    Cartographies [for headphone playback] (2019) A soundscape composition featuring three West Everton organisations working to counter austerity.
    •    Cartographies [four-speaker surround sound installation] (2019) - at Angel Field Festival from the 22nd- 25th of March 2019.
    •    Patchwork Rattlebag - Abschattungen (2019) - single.
    •    Patchwork Rattlebag performance at Angel Field Festival, BBC 6 Music Fringe, 2019.
    •    What Does Who to What? [interactive audio/visual installation] (2018-19) - at ArtsEqual, Edge Hill University in 2018 and Angel Field Festival from the 26th- 29th of March 2019.
    •    Reck (2018) - electronic piece performed at Martini Elettrico, Bologna.
    •    It's the Hope (2018) - Piece for three pianos. Performed by Piano Circus at Edge Hill University.
    •    Patchwork Rattlebag - And What? (2018) - single.
    •    Death to the Strange - Paint By Numbers featured in the film Strangeways Here We Come (2019). 
    •    Carnal Echo (2017) - Piece for ten percussionists. Performed by the Studio 21 percussion ensemble at Oklahoma City University.
    •    Patchwork Rattlebag - On My Own (2017) - Single. Featured on the EDM compilation House of Dance Grooves (2017). Rated 5/5 by and 9/10 by Reyt Good Music Magazine.
    •    Patchwork Rattlebag performance for BBC Music Day, Resonant Edge 2017.
    •    Fragments of the Ship Canal Project (2013-2017) - Electronic work. Performed at: Sound and City 2013, Ionian University, Corfu; Salford Sonic Fusion Festival 2013; and Resonant Edge Festival 2017.
    •    Patchwork Rattlebag - Bokononist (2015) - single.
    •    Patchwork Rattlebag performance at Manchester City vs. Arsenal WSL, 2015.
    •    Patchork Rattlebag performance at Sonic Fusion Festival, 2015.
    •    Three Death to the Strange performances at Le Blues Autour du Zinc Festival, Beauvais, France 2014.
    •    Death to the Strange performance at Etihad Stadium, Manchester City vs. Liverpool Premier League fixture, 2013.
    •    Death to the Strange performance at Manchester Academy 1 as main support for Babyshambles, 2013.
    •    Death to the Strange - “Openshaw Blues” featured on BBC Football Focus, 2013. (start video at 07:58 minutes)
    •    Death to the Strange - “Sign On” featured on ITV1 Daybreak, 2013.
    •    Interference [four-speaker surround piece] (2012) - Four-channel acousmatic piece performed at Alte Schmiede, Vienna as part of the Listening Cities programme.