Liverpool Hope Logo
Find Your Course
Section Menu

Professor Stephen Davismoon

Arts and Humanities Dean's Office
0151 291 3760
Arts and Humanities

Stephen Davismoon was born in London. He completed undergraduate studies in music at the University of Southampton in 1990, specialising in composition with Ric Graebner and Classical Guitar privately with Antonio Albanes (then of the Guildhall School of Music and Drama).


In 1997 he completed his Doctorate in Composition at the University of Edinburgh, studying with Nigel Osborne, Peter Nelson and Edward Harper.  He began his academic career in Scotland which became his home for 20 years, initially lecturing at the University of Edinburgh; the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland, the University of Glasgow, he secured his first permanent academic post at Edinburgh Napier University, where he remained for nearly 10 years - latterly appointed as Head of Music there.  He then went on to take up a Professorship (Chair of Contemporary Composition) and Head of Department roles at the University of Salford and most recently for the Department of Performing Arts at Edge Hill University.


He has had a professional composition career for more than 25 years, and has written music for a broad range of ensembles and situations – from solo pieces through to works for full orchestra, with and without voices. He has also written a number of live electronic/interactive; soundscape, electroacoustic and sound-art installation pieces.  He has collaborated with actors, writers dancers and visual artists in his creative/research work.


He has had performances in Brazil, Canada, Finland, France, Germany, Holland, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Spain, Switzerland, UK, Ukraine, Uruguay and the USA.


He has worked with many notable musicians, institutions and festivals along the way: 10/10 Ensemble, BBC Philharmonic Orchestra, Michael Seal, Roberto Fabbriciani; Rohan de Saram; Die Neuevocalsolisten; Scottish Opera; Centro Tempo Reale; Das Experimentalstudio der Heinrich Strobel Stiftung; Richard Craig; Tara Boumann; Luciane Cardassi, CCMIX Studios; Edinburgh International Festival – ‘Behind the Scenes’; Martyn Brabbins; Chamber Group of Scotland; Le Champs Libre; Ensemble Linea; Brake Drum Percussion Ensemble; The Edinburgh Quartet; Klangwerktage Hamburg; Finestre sul Novecento; The Tampere Conservatoire Symphony Orchestra.


He has appeared on regional and national radio and television broadcasts on a number of occasions to discuss music.


As a writer his scholarly work on Luigi Nono, Edgard Varèse and Contemporary Electronic Music for Routledge have been well-received.