Liverpool Hope Logo Liverpool Hope Logo
Liverpool Hope Logo

Staff and students celebrated at 2023 Hope Star Awards

Students celebrate at the 2023 Hope Star Awards

Staff and students who are making a difference at Liverpool Hope University have been recognised at the 2023 Hope Star Awards.

Organised by the Students’ Union, the annual ceremony celebrates those who go the extra mile to make the University a better place.

The winners, who are nominated by the student community, were revealed at an event held in the Great Hall at the Creative Campus, where Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Provost, Dr Penny Haughan was among the staff in attendance.

Noah Thorley, the Students’ Union Vice President for Education said: “The Students’ Union team would like to thank everyone for taking part in the Hope Star Awards, from promoting the awards to submitting nominations.

“The awards are important in recognising the outstanding work of students and staff. This year it was it was highly competitive, with more than 480 nominations in total and we would like to congratulate all those who were nominated or won an award.

“Everyone should be proud of everything they have achieved over this academic year and the SU look forward to putting the awards on again next year.”

This there were 13 award categories for the 2023 instalment, including the newly introduced Vice President’s Award for both staff and students.

Professional Tutor in Social Work, Amina Saeed, won the staff prize in light of her dedication to both her teaching and extra-curricular projects, whilst Student Ambassador Emma Baker received the student gong for being a pillar of the Hope community over the course of her studies.

Elsewhere, Tony Costello, Lecturer in Politics and International Relations, scooped the Tutor of the Year prize, with Clare Fraser winning the Support Staff of the Year award for non-academic staff who go above and beyond.

In the student categories, George Couch, a second year on the undergraduate Politics programme, claimed Course Rep of the Year, and final year Music and Psychology student Celine Szita was named Hope Star Student in the Community.

You can check out the full list of winners below.

Vice President Award – Student

Winner: Emma Baker

Vice President Award – Staff

Winner: Amina Saeed

Hope Star Student in the Community

Winner: Celine Szita

Honourable mentions: Hendon Du Toit, Assanto Embalo and Sarah Kake

Hope Star Staff in the Community

Winner: Galina Paramei

Honourable mentions: Philomena Harrison and Fiona Pogson

Course Rep of the Year

Winner: George Couch

Honourable mentions: Tinu Collins, Jo Collins, Megan Gorton, Joshua Logue and Olaitan Olakanmi

Tutor of the Year

Winner: Tony Costello

Honourable mentions: Mark Bennet, Neil Buckley, Niamh Malone, John Tilson and Laura Waite

Student Staff of the Year

Winner: Charlotte Nairne

Honourable mentions: Mark Van Eker and Teri Meehan

Support Staff of the Year

Winner: Clare Fraser

Honourable mentions: Louise Green and Marie-Therese Lacey

Student Extra Mile

Winner: Reece Gordon

Honourable mentions: Rabia Begum, Charlie Shenton and Emma Sanders

Staff Extra Mile

Winners: Jeannie Riley and June Wilson

Honourable mentions: Annalaura Alifuoco and Nichola Preston

Student Opportunity

Winner: Dr Catalina Montoyo Londono

Honourable mentions: Emma Liddy and Amina Saeed

Creative Champion

Winner: Maggie Stanton

Honourable mention: Joseph Martin

Activist of the Year

Winner: Sarah Kake

Honourable mentions: Hareth Alshaban, Sean Fullwood and Stephanie Trujillo

Published on 02/05/2023