Liverpool Hope Logo
Find Your Course

Student-led awards recognise Hope staff and students

The hard work and support efforts of 20 staff and students were recognised at a special awards night hosted by the Students’ Union (SU).

This year, the Hope Star Awards received 138 nominations in nine different categories, all of which champion best practice across the University.

In his opening speech, the SU’s Vice President for Education Pranay Raj Shakya talked about how students are greatly affected by the work of tutors, support staff and course representatives, and the Hope Star Awards recognise these efforts with a student-led award.

Pranay said: “Congratulations to all the winners and shortlisted nominees. You are doing great. Keep up the awesome work!”

Steering committee members, who comprise of students from across faculties and campuses at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels, were also recognised for their voluntary contributions through Certificates of Appreciation.

The winners of the Hope Star Awards 2017 are:

Innovation Award – Professional Tutor in Teacher Education Lynne Berry
Student Opportunities – Lecturer in Coaching Science James Malone
Supportive Tutor – Doctoral candidate Neil Buckley, Lecturer in Psychology Letizia Palumbo, Professional Tutor in Teacher Education John Grant, Lecturer in Psychology Belen Lopez, Senior Professional Tutor in Teacher Education Yvonne Ward
Supportive Staff – Senior Lecturer in Geography Kevin Crawford, Senior Resident Tutor Ruairi Cousins, Lecturer in Childhood and Youth Emma Katz,  Professional Tutor in Health and Well-being Joanne Heeney
Thinkers – Post Doctoral Teaching Fellow in Social Policy Alistair Jewell, Lecturer in Disability and Education David Feeney
Feedback – Professional Tutor in Teacher Education Jacqueline Neve
Inspiration – Associate Professor in Geography Janet Speake, Lecturer in Disability and Education Laura Waite
Hope Community Hero – Mental Health and Well-being Adviser Josie Davies
Course Rep of the Year – Students Christy Flynn, Craig Haywood and Emma Jane Samworth

Published on 20/03/2018