Liverpool Hope Logo Liverpool Hope Logo
Liverpool Hope Logo


students walk across rectorate lawn at Hope

The School of Mathematics, Computer Science and Engineering hosts a number of events over the course of the academic year. Further details will be added as they become available.

Lattice 2024

Liverpool Hope University is a co-organising the 2024 International Symposium on Lattice Field Theory, an annual conference attracting scientists working on numerical simulations of quantum field theories from all around the world.

The School of Mathematics, Computer Science and Engineering are part of the organising committee, which is being chaired by representatives from the University of Liverpool.
The Lattice Conference began as a forum for particle physicists to discuss recent developments in lattice gauge theory, especially lattice QCD describing the strong force between quarks and gluons.

Nowadays it is the largest conference of its type and has grown to include areas like algorithms and machine architectures, code development, chiral symmetry, physics beyond the Standard Model, and strongly interacting phenomena in low-dimensional systems.
The 41st Lattice Conference will take place in Liverpool from July 28th to August 3rd, 2024.
It will be hosted by the University of Liverpool. The main conference venue will be the Yoko Ono Lennon Centre, with parallel sessions to be held in the University of Liverpool Teaching Hub/Guild of Students building.

Up to 300 rooms will be available in university accommodation in the vicinity of the conference venues. This includes the Creative Campus at Liverpool Hope and Crown Place and Vine Court at the University of Liverpool.

Important dates/deadlines and registration information will be published here in due course.

Local Organising Committee

  • Simon Hands (Chair) (University of Liverpool)
  • Nicolas Garron (Liverpool Hope University)
  • Chris Bouchard (University of Glasgow) 
  • Pavel Buividovich (University of Liverpool)
  • John Gracey (University of Liverpool)
  • Vera Gülpers (University of Edinburgh)
  • Maxwell Hansen (University of Edinburgh)
  • Paul Rakow (University of Liverpool)
  • Sinéad Ryan (Trinity College Dublin)
  • David Schaich (University of Liverpool)
  • Jon-Ivar Skullerud (Maynooth University)